What Rights Do Landlords Have in California?
Much is written and read about the rights of tenants. What about property owners? Believe it or not, landlords have rights, too. If you are a landlord in California, you may be unaware of your rights. Or worse yet, you may be relying on inaccurate or outdated information about what you legally can and cannot do as a property owner. In the California, some of the rights you have as a landlord include:
- Fees and deposits — By law, landlords are allowed to charge an application screening fee and various types of deposits. For an unfurnished space, landlords can charge a security deposit equal to two times the monthly rent. If you are renting a furnished unit, the security deposit can be equal to three times the monthly rent.
- Rent increases — In California, landlords have the right to increase the rent. However, depending on location, rental increase may be unregulated or price controlled.
- Evictions — As a landlord in the Golden State, you have the right to evict tenants. In most cases, you can evict tenants who are on a month-by-month tenancy by providing notice of the eviction 60 days in advance. For all other tenants, you are required to provide 30 days’ notice.
If you are a landlord, you have the right to control who lives in your units. You can ask questions such as, Do you smoke? Do you have pets? What is your income and Where do you work? Further, you have the right to earn a profit from your investment. To receive comprehensive information and advice regarding your rights as a landlord in California, consult with a competent real estate attorney today.